If we could only see a glimpse of His glory…

As the years go by, I find myself more in awe of how quickly that time seems to fly forward. I try to spend time doing things that are worth it and yet I still struggle to really know with deep conviction that I’ve honored God with the way I’m spending it. Somehow I glorify those in full-time ministry or missions work and then look upon myself and my efforts as futile.

Still, that can’t really be what God wants for His people. I believe that He wants us to really consider the way we appropriate our time, but I’m also convinced that He doesn’t want us to feel defeated about it. There are certainly stages in life when our kingdom work might seem pretty insignificant in our eyes, yet it may be what the Lord has called us to do for a season. Additionally, it is helpful to be reminded that there is not a great divide in God’s economy between sacred and secular work.  Students, businesspeople, salespeople, homemakers, among others can all work faithfully as unto the Lord.

Here is a snippet of the verses that came to my mind this morning as I was reflecting on the brief time we have been given on earth and the whole host of opportunities that noisily compete for our attention.

“So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom…Let your work be shown to your servants, and your glorious power to their children. Let the favor of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands upon us; yes, establish the work of our hands!” Psalm 90: 12, 16-17

I was also reminded of Chris Rice’s song, “Life Means So Much.”

We need a fresh glimpse of His glory from time to time to put all these things in our lives into perspective. Oh, that we would see and experience the power and presence of our God more and that it would shape our lives in accordance with His kingdom plans!

Leave a comment